The production of the book, ‘The Early Days of the River Tweed Commissioners’, by Caroline Balfour (a Tweed Commissioner) was the result of many months hard work and traces the beginnings of the River Tweed Commission (RTC) up to the first Tweed Act of 1807 specifically endowing it with various powers to manage the river. The book provides a fascinating account of the lawlessness which was rife on the river up to the 1700’s and how a few dedicated men sought to regulate and nurture their prime asset – the Salmon. The book was originally produced as part of the celebrations to commemorate the bicentenary of the River Tweed Commission in 2007.
The formation of the RTC was largely due to the dedication and energy of one man: John Southey, 5th Lord Somerville, who lived at Pavilion near Melrose and who corresponded, and fished, with his great friend in the Borders, Sir Walter Scott.
The book is now available to download free as a pdf from the RTC’s website. However as all proceeds from the sale of the book will go to The Tweed Foundation in support of its scientific and research work on Tweed freshwater fish stocks, you might like to buy the hard copy, which is also available from the RTC at a cost of £10, including p&p.
Order through the RTC Office:
Email: firstname.lastname@example.org Tel: 01896 848294