An elegant and traditional Scottish country estate, The Yair perches regally on the banks of the River Tweed in the heart of the Scottish Borders, amid ancient woodland and rolling hills.
The Yair’s history began fittingly in 1156 when King Malcolm allowed the monks of Kelso to build a dam on the River Tweed, creating a pool for fishing; a sport that the estate is still renowned for today.
The beat consists of 3 miles of right bank fishing bordering Peel to the top, approximately 300 yards above Ashiestiel Bridge and Sunderland Hall to the bottom. The beat offers a wide variety of fishing and boasts some spectacular scenery. There are more than 16 named pools, of which most are easily accessible, and these are divided to allow fishing for 7 fly only rods. Tweed River Map
Alan, the ghillie, who has been at The Yair for over 20 years, knows the beat inside out and is always about to give advice.
The estate holiday cottages, recently renovated, located a mere 5 minute walk from the fishing hut.
The Salmon Season on the River Tweed starts on February 1st and closes November 30th. For more information about fishing the River Tweed please visit FishTweed within FishPal – the place for all things fishing in Scotland.